Artist of the Week

New and Interesting artists for you to discover!

Happy Friday!

Any fun plans this weekend? Grad season is upon us and I am prepping for all the children entering adulthood and beyond! Adulting is tough! But we keep it pushing!

🔊ARTIST OF THE WEEK🔊

I have to be honest, Jazz has always been apart of my life and have a deep love for the music, but as of recent years, I feel like I’ve lost touch with the Jazz/Soul. That was until Andre’ 3000 came out with his most recent album New Blue Sun, it really opened me back up to exploring a “familiar friend”. While jumping back into the likes of Coltrane, Gil Scott Heron and more, I dove into new territory with artists and stumbled across Shabaka. I don’t know what “genre” of Jazz this is, but I love it. His music feel meditative and indigenous in nature. It feels like a place I want to go, but have been all along. A state of mind, place of being. A sense of self. I’ve been listening to this entire album front to back for the last week and I have to say, its been a great background to my days. At the gym, focused time for work or even just sitting and vibing to it while meditating, this album is so versatile and puts you in a state of calm to conquer anything! So happy to have stumbled on this album. The visuals for this song are also 🔥 Check out below:

Here is a blurb from his Spotify

“Perceive its Beauty, Acknowledge its Grace by multi-instrumentalist Shabaka Hutchings is, in a sense, a debut album. And perhaps, most importantly, it represents the spirit of exploration that the artist is most tapped into. London-born, Hutchings spent much of his childhood in Barbados. Beginning at age nine, he studied the clarinet, playing in calypso bands while studying classical repertoire, often practicing over hip hop beats by artists such as Nas, as well as to the music native to Barbados.

His musical exploration includes employing a variety of flutes, including the ancient Japanese Shakuhachi, which he started playing in 2020 during the pandemic. "As more flutes have been added to my arsenal, l've started to appreciate the underlying principles that cause these instruments to resonate most fully and use this understanding to form a concept allowing me to freely move between instruments." For the flute-forward album Perceive its Beauty, Acknowledge its Grace, Hutchings tapped into a remarkable cadre of players, including percussionist Carlos Niño and bassist Esperanza Spalding. Vocalists including Saul Williams and Lianne La Havas contributed to "Managing My Breath, What Fear Had Become" and "Kiss Me Before I Forget", respectively. Floating Points, with whom Shabaka shared a stage with for their performance of Promises at the Hollywood Bowl, provided additional production on the track "'ll Do Whatever You”

I hope you enjoy Shabaka’s music as much as I do!

If you are an artists, know artists or creators and want to be featured, hit me up! We are directly reaching out to artists to highlight and help however we can.

Join our Discord or shoot me and email: [email protected]

BE SURE TO VIBE OUT WITH US 🎨🎵

🎶ENJOY đźŽ¶

That's a wrap for today! as always...

Keep Vibin’

Gabriel